In Spite of, Not Because

Today on facebook, I saw one of those inspirational quotes that said “I am a strong woman because I was raised by a strong woman.”  Usually when I see things like that, I feel this little stab inside because I don’t feel that way about my mom at all.  Of course, lots of days I also don’t really feel like I’m strong, but you know what?  I must be strong to be surviving.  But it’s not because I was raised by someone strong, it’s in spite of the way that I was raised.  I guess I can feel good-ish about that, even if actually feeling good doesn’t seem to be an option for me right now.

Leave a Reply

